2010 Scholarship Recipients
CVLPOA 2010 College Scholarship Awards

The Coachella Valley Chapter, National Latino Peace Officers Association (CVLPOA) hosted its fifth annual College Scholarship Awards Luncheon event on Wednesday, April 14th at the Miracle Springs Resort & Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs, CA.

The 2010 College Scholarship Award event recognized exceptional local graduating high school students. This year, CVLPOA selected Desert Hot Springs High School (DHSHS) where four graduating students: Daisy Duarte, Jessica Duran, Leanne Wendelborn, and Rigoberto Quintero; were recipients of $1,000 individual college scholarship awards.

The Awards event also recognized outstanding students who have excelled as Marine cadets in the challenging DHSHS U.S. Marine Corps JROTC program: Ivan Nava, Rigoberto Quintero, Alex Wiseman, Jacob Whiting, and Erick Sparks. The Marine JROTC Color Guard unit performed the Posting of Colors ceremony.

Our event guest speaker was Gary Jeandron, former president and current School Board member of the Palm Springs Unified School District. Gary Jeandron is also a retired City of Palm Springs Police Chief. Special guests that presented the distinguished awards were the Honorable Yvonne Parks, Mayor of the City of Desert Hot Springs, and Police Chief Pat Williams of the Desert Hot Springs Police Department. Riverside County Sheriff Stan Sniff, Imperial County Sheriff Ray Loera, and Chiefs of Police from all the Coachella Valley cities, were also in attendance and supported this worthy program.
CVLPOA  |  P.O. Box 1574  |  Indio, CA 92202